Things I’m Not

I wrote a list of things I am
And then a list of things I’m not
I fear now I’m less interesting
Than I had previously thought

For example: I’m a boy
I think that’s a fine thing to be
But then again, I’m not a girl
Nor a dragon or a tree

I’m four feet seven inches tall
And I think that’s completely fine
But then, I could be two feet tall
Or nine foot six, or six foot nine

I’m pretty happy, usually
I guess that that should make me glad
But why not be melancholy
Or worried sick, or spitting mad?

I guess it shouldn’t matter that
My “Things I’m Not” go on and on
I’ll just hope that someĀ “Things I’m Not”
Are “Things I’ll Be Before Too Long”

Leave a Reply

