Request #4

Here’s a new request post, from Wyatt. In a previous post, I answered a request for poetry about inferencing/drawing conclusions. Wyatt asked for more on this topic, but with an extra stipulation. He writes:

I work with third grade ELLs (and my colleagues 4th and 5th graders), some of whom read at a first grade level. The big reason I ask is because it’s often hard to find materials that our students can read but deal with specific standards. We need to compile evidence so that we can submit it in lieu of them taking the reading SOL at the end of the year, which is at a much higher level than they can access.

Here are 3 poems about inferencing/drawing conclusions, aimed at a lower-elementary reading level.

 

Your Candy Bar

I am sorry
I don’t know
Where did your
Candy bar go?

You left it by me
But I swear
I just left it
Sitting there

I do not know
Where it’s gone
Say…do you have
Another one?

Welcome to Miami

The day Mia moved to Miami
She was a little scared
But when she got off of the bus
She had to stop and stare
There was a parade on the street
Singing and dancing around
“How nice of them,” she told her mom
“To welcome me to town!”
And Mia felt so happy
She forgot about her fear
She said “I hope they’ll do a parade
For me again next year!”
And sure enough, the next year she found
That her wish had come true
Because they had another parade
On that July 4th too

(This is actually based on an old family story, in which my Grandfather moved from Pender, Nebraska to Miami in 1945. He thought the whole city was celebrating his arrival. It was actually VJ day.)

Letters

(ed.: It’s been brought to my attention that nobody has any idea what I’m writing about in this one. Fair enough.)

My friend gave me a letter
And I did not know why
It said “Oh no!”
And then below
He drew a little fly

Was he afraid of bugs now?
Did one land on my head?
Maybe he tried
To swat a fly
But hit himself instead?

I did not understand, but then
He handed me one more
I hoped that it
Would explain a bit
But it said the same as before

Leave a Reply

