One Morning

One morning, I woke up with wings
Such mighty, elegant of things!
But then I noticed – just my luck
I’d grown a beak just like a duck
I crawled back in bed, and wondered, “Who really
Wants to fly around looking so silly?”

One morning, I woke up to find
The most beautiful music composed in my mind
But when I sat, and tried to write
It took me hours to get it right
I closed my book, and asked, “What song
Is really worth working on for so long?”

One morning, I woke to find my brain
Could solve any problem with little strain
I bragged to the mailman, but when I was done
He asked if I knew how to cure his son
I went back inside, and groaned, “If more
People knew of my gifts, they’d all beg at my door.”

One morning, I woke up with dread
My body could not leave my bed
No matter what muscle I tried to shift,
My limbs simply refused to lift
I closed my eyes, and cried, “What a sting!
Now my life will never amount to a thing!”

Leave a Reply

